Eyes (In Stories Even)

So, as much as I say I want to be a writer, how long has it been that I actually put something up here about stories/writing?  Damn boy, get on it!  So a fascination, even borderline obsession of mine, are people’s eyes.  Eyes are amazing in their differentiation, in their ability to show what a person is thinking even if they think they are hiding it.

Not only do others’s eyes interest me, but mine own do as well.  What do you see when you look into your own eyes?  Do you see them as you do when looking into other eyes?  For me, not so much.  I have stared at my own eyes for long lengths of time, and no matter the face I conjure up I always see the same thing in them.  I see, well, nothing.  I don’t know if it is a failing on my part to show the emotion, or to see it in myself, or if it is completely mental.  Is this nothingness, this coldness how I see myself?  I don’t know and I don’t feel like paying a professional to find out.  If it is simple self loathing, where is the surprise?  I enjoy writing.  If I didn’t hate myself, drink, and at the same time somehow think myself better than other people; well how could I be a writer?

In stories eyes add a whole new level of your understanding of the character, or at least your perceived understanding of said character I believe.  When you give somebody an eye color, everybody who sees that color will automatically invoke certain feelings about that eye color.  For me, when somebody has blue eyes they automatically seem more cold to me.  Brown eyes seem more compassionate.  Green eyes seem exciting. Grey eyes I can see as exciting as well, but sometimes just a hardness in that person.  Why all of these come to mind, I don’t know.  Maybe it is similar for you as well.  I don’t know.  Maybe blue seems cold simply because of my first step father.  He was a drinker with quite the fierce attitude.  His eyes could be so cold when that anger was upon him.  Could flash it in an instant.  Brown, well my eyes have some brown, so maybe I feel I can relate better to those with that.  They also have some green in them though, and I don’t see myself as all that exciting.

Eyes.  I wish there were a way to know exactly what they meant all the time.  I know I said that you can read them, but that doesn’t always work.  There are those that can truly hide.  There are those that only show emotion when actively engaging others in conversation.  There are those that will only look in the eyes of somebody while that person talks, and yet when it is their turn they simply stare at the floor the entire time, so as to keep you from seeing into their souls.

I know I stayed mostly on the one subject this go.  Not terribly like me.  But I am also struggling to stay awake.  Had a great day filled with books, comics, and food.  I’m off to bed.  Hopefully this was coherent enough to make some of the point that I wanted.  Make me a better point. Toodles.

    • LetterzToNoOne
    • June 4th, 2011

    There are those that will only look in the eyes of somebody while that person talks, and yet when it is their turn they simply stare at the floor the entire time, so as to keep you from seeing into their souls.

    I think I am one of those people.

  1. I stare at people’s eyes constantly, the trick is not to let them notice. When somebody looks away, as if to hide their emotions or thoughts, that is the best time to look into their soul. Right then it is the most revealing,
    Then again, I look away when I go into thought, which is every .3 seconds. Seriously the quickness and depth of my thought process at any given moment is like a bunch of one-legged naked cheerleaders in a demolition derby.

    • Brittany
    • June 4th, 2011

    i’ve heard from many people my eyes turn into a brighter blue the happier i am.
    i think looking someone in the eyes is a show of confidence, one many struggle with.

  2. Yeah, I hate thinking when people are talking sometimes. Normally if I am, then I don’t really listen to what they are saying. On the other hand, when I do listen, it’s normally easy to discern the direction of the conversation and then I zone out and think anyways. I try to pay attention though, I really do. I suppose maybe I just like my thoughts better than theirs. There are only a few people that can engage my attention at most any given time. Although being a man, all it takes to fully engage it at any second is a pair of boobs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

