In Which I…

Tattoo ‘Fancy That’ on a fairly inappropriately small area to try to fit those words.  For the reference, I suppose you would have to watch the following video.  His name is Tim Minchin but comedy is his game.

Now then, why would I say that?  Well, turns out that the new iPhone may have a one-up on Android devices.  Turns out that Siri may be trying to turn into your best friend.  We all know the differences between friends and best friends of course.  A friend will help you move a couch; a best friend will help you move a body.  Well feast your eyes on this! (Scroll down for dramatic effect to continue..)

Image found on dvice.com

Fun times, right?

Other fun for today.. Well it all started with trying to get a blueberry tea latte at the gas station and my card being declined.  I was fairly upset.  Fun mix up at the bank.  All is well now so there is that, but I never got that blueberry tea latte.  It has left me with a case of blue-craves.  Will have to try on the way to work tomorrow with hopefully better results.

Oddly enough once I got to work the day actually picked up.  I was able to do a new project and not just stand around building circuit boards all day.  Got to actually be semi-creative and do some drilling and cutting and stuff.  Was fun.  My knuckles may be bloodier for it, but I think that is truly the mark of a job well done.  Also got a surprise check at work today, had forgotten about the wellness program that started, so my gym membership is paid for now.  That was neato.

I was also able to finish a book I had been working on for the past few days.  I even started on the second in the series.  The book I finished was “The Blade Itself” by Joe Abercrombie.  It was a thoroughly enjoyable book.  I’m not really sure at all where it is all going yet, and I understand that I won’t until the end of the third book, but it was good all the same.  It is a fantasy book but grittier than the norm.  Well unless your norm is George RR Martin.  I would have to say that Martin and Abercrombie have similar takes on how they build their characters.  There are really no good or evil characters.  They are all very morally grey.  They feel human.  They have flaws.  They will make good decisions and they will make bad decisions.  Even so, or maybe especially so, due to this there are some very interesting characters.  Bayas is an amazing mage character.  He is so badass that it isn’t even cool for him to mention it.  How many other magi do you know who made a person explode into little bits because they interrupted his bath?  He is also a smartass, a quality that I find endearing.  Logen Ninefingers is another fun character who also may be slightly schizophrenic.  I suppose that will show as the trilogy progresses.

Don’t just take my word for it though, Felicia Day highly recommends the books as well as Patrick Rothfuss.  Surely you can take their opinion.

Also I ate a pluot today.  Have you had one?  They are delicious.  They are 3/4 plum and 1/4 apricot.

My son shaved half of an eyebrow off today while I was working.  He said he had to go potty.  He then locked himself in the bathroom and proceeded to grab my razor and try to shave one off.  Apparently he dislikes eyebrows.  Who knew?

I have also written a page a night for two nights now.  May not be huge, but it is at least something.

Same thing I say about

my check. Duh.

  1. That is the first time that I have ever seen or heard Tim Minchin. He is awesome! Loved that beat poem. I do believe I shall forward it on to my sister-in-law, who is in dire need of such a rant. That’s too bad about your blueberry latte; I, too, am a creature of habit and if I don’t have my bowl of cereal in the morning, if I have to substitute with toast or whatever, I feel off-kilter. And pissed. I haven’t read any of Abercrombie’s books, so maybe I shall check one out from the library tomorrow. I’m fresh out of new books to read and have been feeling out of sorts about it. Similar to how a junkie must feel when it’s been too long since his last hit. 😛 I’m sure your son looks quite cute with only half an eyebrow. Wait til he cuts his bangs off by himself. Not so bad when its a boy; you can give them a buzz cut. When it’s a long-haired little girl, though, it’s pretty hysterical. At least I think so. Every one of my four kids (2 boys, 2 girls) have cut their bangs off, usually around the age of 3 or 4. Enjoy him- kids are a trip and they’re so darn cute. 🙂

    • I’m glad that you liked it. Tim MInchin is great. He has quite a few great skits and songs. A couple of my other faves are Mitsubishi Colt, Prejudice, and Skepticism and Feet. The last one is just one, Skepticism and Feet. In case that wasn’t clear. It is a great skit about evolution. Hope things are going well for you ma’am!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

