The Big Slow Down

I awake.  The pain is almost immediate.  I curse.  I wander to the bathroom and take the morning leak, hoping that somehow that will relieve the pressure of the other pain.  Alas, as I knew deep down, it didn’t.  I try to put it to the back of my mind.  Just go about my day.  All will be well.  Such a small hole.  So very much pain.  I prod the edges of it and wince.  The heat of the infection is becoming noticeable.  Maybe a bit of alcohol will help I hope.  It does nothing except clear the sinuses.  I decide to go to work and just not worry about it.  I get to work and start to do my job but am constantly being distracted.  I just want it to end.  I go to the bathroom.  I decide that I have to take the risk.  Sometimes the only way to get over a pain is to make it worse.  I grab hold of the edges of the infection and squeeze.  I squeeze for all I am worth.  Tears stream unbidden down my face but there is progress.  I squeeze harder and finally the blackhead is pushed out of my nostril.  Tears, snot, blood and pus come out of me yet I smile.  The pain and pressure are greatly alleviated.

So yeah.  Deep down blackhead on the inside of my left nostril.  It hurt a bit.  So how are things with you?

That is…a slight bit of overkill.  You get the point though.

Now then, about the title.  I believe that most people come to this point in life.  The point where you sit back and say “What the hell am I doing all this rushing around for?”  Is it really necessary to drive 80 everywhere?  Does it matter if I wait in line an extra five minutes?  I don’t know if it is having a child, the fact that I reached level 25 and am almost to 26, or just because of well hell if I know.  Just doesn’t seem worth it.  Slow down, enjoy the scenery, hell help a neighbor/friend/random stranger out if the opportunity arises.  So I suppose that in some aspects it would be the big slow down, but in many others it is a quickening of the mind.  Realizing what matters.  Spending more time in your head instead of being in constant action.

My random thoughts of the day.  I will try to rub enough brain cells together to come up with more.  Night.

    • brittany
    • November 13th, 2011

    Come enjoy the florida scenery:-

  1. I was not expecting that black head — expecting something blacker! Glad you got your perspective. But please, don’t drive in front of me!

    • I will do what I can. Just don’t be one of those that swerve back and forth between lanes. I loooooove blocking them. It’s a sickness really. 🙂

      • Deal! I’d never be such an asshole!

  2. Ewww, Al! That’s some graphic detail! It was a good story, though. I wasn’t expecting the blackhead scenario, either. I am one of those people who is always in a hurry when I’m driving and I don’t even know why half the time. It’s like I view every drive like a race I don’t want to lose. I make the effort to slow down from time to time, but my default setting is FAST. I feel sorry for my guardian angel. 😛

    • You probably keep a pair of clippers in your car for the local Amish too, huh? Haha! Also refer to my other comment to Elyse.

    • dara
    • November 13th, 2011

    .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

